Apologies and Updates

I’m back!

I know, it’s been a long while, and it wasn’t even completely my fault. The platform (Beehiiv) had a system error that wouldn’t let me compose emails for a while, and after failed attempts for three days I stopped trying for… months haha. So it is mostly my fault. Shoutout to Lexy for reminding me of how much I enjoy writing and that I should probably try again!

List format feels easier for updates, so here’s what’s new:

1) If you haven’t already heard, we are pregnant with a baby boy due end of July. Still deciding on names, but a third ‘B’ name is unlikely. (We did try.)

2) We are expanding our dwelling by a room and a bathroom, with a goal to then acquire zero things for the next ten years. Jk, but I feel like the addition will only just allow us to store all the things we already have effectively. Purging Fever has been raging in full force.

3) The peaches are nearly ripe. Somehow this always features highly in my consciousness, so it must be important.

4) The kids are learning things, some of which I am proud and some not so much. Boyd regularly says “Oh gosh” when I really thought I’d trained myself out of it, Bruce started saying “What. A. Heck!” the other week, and while that’s not really how I say it I know that that one is my fault as well.🤦🏼‍♀️ Loxley loves singing but hates to be corrected, so we get all sorts of interesting versions of ‘Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star,’ ‘Once I Caught A Fish Alive’ and the ABCs.

5) Stanton and I are headed to Switzerland soon and my excitement and anxiety are both at about a 9.5/10. I’ve had anxiety about travel for as long as I can remember, but it is definitely compounded when it’s overseas and I have to figure out how to compose a will and get it signed and notarized in a matter of days. All possible scenarios become likely realities when creating a will, and I’ve cried more than once this week for my children’s orphan future. If something happens and I don’t get around to writing them individualized letters this week, please tell them every time you see them how much Stanton and I love them.😂😭😅(For the record, the anxiety calms significantly as soon as I actually start traveling, so I do enjoy the trips.)

6) My birthday was great, except that 38 is decidedly more like 40 than 37 was. I’m basically over the hill, past my prime, and nearly ripe for resurrection. But the day itself was great and I am grateful to be living the life of my dreams, so I can’t complain too much about the “significance of the passage of time”. (And if you can name that quote you get major bonus points.😂)

A happy week to you all!

-K